Nakilon's blog

Chinese image rotation captcha solver and figuring out the crypto

image rotation captcha solver

Six days ago I made another captcha solver. It is something Chinese and it's about moving the slider. The circular part of the image is cut out and rotated so you have to tell the rotation angle to fix the image.

I've spent probably an hour accumulatively thinking about how to solve it, then two hours to code and two hours to visualise the process for sharing/blogging purpose. In the process I've found that arbitrary angle rotation with vips is strange and looks barely usable to me so I had to code the pixel-to-pixel projection loop.

As usual, I upload the visualisation to ko-fi here. Initially I created a ko-fi page to allow you support me because GitHub will not enable the Sponsors, but payments got complicated and it will probably not work anyway, so don't bother -- my ko-fi is currently just an image gallery, maybe I'll move it to somewhere else if I find a better place for such a portfolio.

how do I receive donations in cryptocurrency?

Speaking about donations, in my country people don't support (and basically hate, but that's another story) programmers but transactions from abroad from foreigners who appreciate my efforts nowadays are blocked by banks. I want to figure out how to get around it, but the problem is people don't bother doing it properly and instead they pay huge fees. For example, I ask them about LNURL-pay and no one even knows what it is. That's lame but I'm not surprised -- mass never knows a clue.

So I've spent like three evenings reading about all this trying to find the way to make a low-fee (BEP-20, ERC-20, etc.) donation link with little to no initial investment but it seems just unavoidable to pay some $5-10 to god knows who to just start using a new non-custodial wallet. I mostly read about Bitcoin and the thing is the Lightning Network isn't usable until you have at least a ruble in your wallet, but to put it there you have to pay either the "miner fee" or a crypto exchange service withdrawal fee that is about the same. And people are fooled into thinking the exchange services are how crypto is supposed to work, they don't realise that every such website is just a middleman. People agree to overpay for transactions just because it's too complicated or boring so they don't research further. Not saying that it's still complicated for me but I feel like in three days I've learned more real stuff about it than most users do in a year already using it. People are easily manipulated into paying needless fees but that's another story too. I'll still need to use some shady service to withdraw to my bank account anyway but I'll leave it for the future. And the future is unknown.

#A.I. #cryptocurrency #vips