Nakilon's blog

Got the first pull request to my 7 year old gem and it's good

Creating public GitHub repos is weird in the way that when you have just published the new thing and you are so excited about it, no one cares, and you get the first feedback only after years.

For example, I became sure that people are using the "dhash-vips" only after I accidentally broke it and got the bug report with +1s. I also realised that the real number of users is much higher that the number of Stars and Watchers. Now another gem stopped working and it was the dependency (also a gem of mine) that had to be patched. I was the only contributor to it, until this night. Someone came up with a bugfix. I still wonder if there is any analogy in real life, like if... a random stranger said: "hey, you dropped this" and picked it up for me. He helped not just me but himself and others but it still feels nice for some reason.

This led to releasing new versions of "reddit_bot", "nethttputils" and "nakischema". The last one got a new feature -- the fixture method that is handy to reuse the validation schema. I still have to find time to document it but simply speaking the idea is that when you make a tool that consumes some third-party API you are able to describe the schema in a single place and use it twice. The integration test calls the real API and validates with the schema, while the unit test has the API mocked and you don't hardcode or record the real response but instead it's been constructed out of the schema. It reminds me the factory_girl.

I still do not know if anyone is using the "nakischema" but I hope one day someone will come and make the Issue #1 there too.

#GitHub #gem dhash-vips #gem nakischema #gem nethttputils #gem reddit_bot #open source #ruby